### **HOWARD COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS**

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

9770 Patuxent Woods Drive, Suite 200 Columbia, MD 21046

Thursday, February 17, 2022 - 4:00 pm

# **Special Open Board Meeting**

### **ATTENDEES:**

#### **Board Members:**

Donna K. Thewes Board President, Republican Member Ann M. Balcerzak Vice President, Democratic Member

Diane L. Butler Republican Member
Raymond M. Rankin Democratic Member

#### Staff:

Eric C. Brousaides, Esq. Board Counsel Phyllis A. West Board Secretary

**Absent:** Timothy J. Mummert Republican Member

## CALL TO ORDER AND DECLARATION OF QUORUM

Board President Donna Thewes called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm and stated that all members of the Board were in attendance except Tim Mummert, who was excused. The meeting was duly publicized. President Thewes stated that the meeting was called solely to convene a closed Executive Session of the Board under General Provisions Art. §3-305(b)(7)--"To consult with counsel to obtain legal advice". President Thewes asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting for the above reason. Ray Rankin made the motion, which was seconded by Diane Butler.

<u>Action:</u> All Board members in attendance voted to approve the motion to adjourn the Special Open Board Meeting at 4:01 pm in order to convene in closed Executive Session.

President Thewes reconvened the Special Open Board Meeting at 4:10 pm. She reported that in Executive Session, the Board discussed and obtained legal advice from Board Counsel regarding application of Board bylaws to public comments and the process for judicial review of petitions. She stated that Board Counsel will prepare a response to the public comments.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, President Thewes asked for a motion to adjourn the Special Open Board Meeting. Ray Rankin offered a motion to adjourn, which was seconded by Diane Butler.

**<u>Action:</u>** The Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 4:11 pm.

The next regular open meeting of the Howard County Board of Elections is scheduled for Monday, February 28, 2020 at 4:00 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,	
Phyllis A. West, Board Secretary	Donna K. Thewes, Board President