### **HOWARD COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS MEETING MINUTES**

9770 Patuxent Woods Drive, Suite 200 Columbia, MD 21046

Monday, May 16, 2022

**Note:** This meeting was held virtually.

# **Special Open Board Meeting**

### **ATTENDEES:**

### **Board Members:**

Donna K. Thewes Board President, Republican Member

Diane L. Butler Republican Member
Raymond M. Rankin Democratic Member

#### Staff:

Guy C. Mickley Election Director
Charlotte B. Davis Deputy Director
Phyllis A. West Board Secretary

**Absent:** Ann M. Balcerzak Vice President, Democratic Member

Timothy J. Mummert Republican Member

Eric C. Brousaides, Esq. Board Counsel

## **CALL TO ORDER AND DECLARATION OF QUORUM**

Board President Donna Thewes called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm with an established quorum present.

This meeting was called to vote on a polling place change for District/Precinct 6-04 for the Gubernatorial Primary Election on July 19, 2022. Director Guy Mickley stated that the original polling place—Atholton Elementary School—will have no air conditioning on Primary Election Day. He asked the Board to approve moving the polling place three-quarters of a mile to Clemens Crossing Elementary School for the Primary Election.

Donna Thewes asked for a motion to approve this change of polling place for D/P 6-04 for the Primary Election on July 19, 2022. Ray Rankin made a motion that the Board approve this change and Diane Butler seconded the motion.

<u>Action:</u> The motion to approve moving the polling place for D/P 6-04 to Clemens Crossing Elementary School from Atholton Elementary School for the Primary Election on July 19, 2022 was approved by those in attendance.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, Donna Thewes asked for a motion to adjourn the Special Open Board Meeting. Ray Rankin made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Diane Butler seconded the motion.

Action: Board members in attendance voted to adjourn the meeting at 4:03 pm.

The next Regular Open Board Meeting of the Howard County Board of Elections will be held on Monday, May 23, 2022 at 4:00 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,	
Phyllis A. West, Board Secretary	Donna K. Thewes, Board President