# OPEN SESSION Howard County Board of Elections 9770 Patuxent Woods Drive Columbia, Maryland 21046 August 30, 2010

Persons Present:

Board: Ann M. Balcerzak, President Donna K. Thewes, Vice-President Raymond M. Rankin, Member Donna L. Rice, Substitute Michael S. Molinaro, Board Attorney Vivian L. Dixon, Board Secretary

Staff: Guy C. Mickley, Deputy Director

Guests: None

Ms. Balcerzak called the meeting to order at 3:55 PM. Following the Pledge of Allegiance, The Members present, constituted a quorum.

**Approval of Minutes:** Minutes for May and June incomplete due to office relocation; will be presented at the September Board Meeting. No meeting was held in July.

### Changes to Agenda: None

## **Correspondence:** None

### <u>President:</u>

- Discussed 50+ EXPO scheduled for October 15<sup>th</sup>, 9am 4pm.
- Early Voting & November Calendar discussed.
- <u>HC Clarifies Enforcement of Political Campaign Sign Regulations</u> were shared.
- Hoai Truong's request to give flu shots in Early Voting polling sites was discussed; Board unanimously agreed to deny the request.

## **Director's Report:**

- All equipment, to be used at the three (3) Early Voting sites, will have been updated and tested.
- Police will patrol area day/night.

**Attorney's Report:** Atty. Molinaro reported on LBE Attorney Conference Call and status of '2009 and '2010 Petition Litigation Cases.

New Business: None

**<u>Old Business</u>**: Still awaiting appointment of Republican Substitute Board Member.

<u>Action:</u> Margaret Rappaport, Clerk of the County, executed swearing in of Board Members, Board Counsel and Board Secretary for September's Early Voting

The next meeting of the Howard County Board of Elections is scheduled for September 27, 2010, at 3:45 PM in the Howard County Board of Elections Boardroom. There being no further business, Ms. Thewes' motion to adjourn was made seconded by Mr. Rankin and unanimously agreed upon. Meeting adjourned at 5:45 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

<u>Vivian L. Dixon 22 Nov 2010</u> Vivian L. Dixon, Board Secretary

.<u>Ann M. Balcerzak 22 Nov 2010</u>. Ann M. Balcerzak, Board President