## Howard County Board of Elections 9770 Patuxent Woods Drive Columbia, MD 21046 February 28, 2011

## **Persons Present:**

Board: Ann M. Balcerzak, President

Donna K. Thewes, Vice-President Raymond M. Rankin, Member Patricia A. Neidig, Substitute

Michael S. Molinaro, Board Attorney Vivian L. Dixon, Board Secretary

Staff: Guy C. Mickley, Deputy Director

Excused: Betty L. Nordaas, Director

Guests: None

Ms. Balcerzak called the meeting to order at 4:08 PM. Following the Pledge of Allegiance it was noted that Members present, constituted a quorum.

**Approval of Minutes:** November Board Meeting Minutes were incomplete and will be presented at February Meeting.

Changes to Agenda: None

**Correspondence:** None

**President:** 

## **Director's Report:**

- 65% of street redistricting, based on 2010 Census, completed.
- State approved shredding of old registration files (up to & including 2008), completed in-house.
- State Law requires a 2-year record keeping; current files are for 22 month period.
- All efforts to reconstruct poll book freezes failed; will examine possible human factor.
- Confirmation Card process explained.

## Attorney's Report: No changes in status of:

- Kendall Case being tried in 4<sup>th</sup> Circuit Court in Richmond, VA by Atty. G. Richman.
- Marc Norman Case is on hold; awaiting outcome of Montgomery County Fireman's case.

**New Business:** The Board reviewed the letter developed by Atty. Molinaro, and edited by Ms. Rice and Board Secretary. Letter of personal matter was signed and mailed February 24, 2011.

**Old Business:** None

**Action:** None to report

The next meeting of the Howard County Board of Elections is scheduled for March 28, 2011 at 4:00 PM in the Howard County Board of Elections Boardroom. There being no further business, Ms. Thewes' motion to adjourn was seconded by Ms. Rice and unanimously agreed upon. Meeting adjourned at 5:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

<u>Vivian L. Dixon 03/28/2011</u> Vivian L. Dixon, Board Secretary Ann M. Balcerzak 03/28/2011
Ann M. Balcerzak, Board President