Howard County Solar Task Force Meeting – 3/31/2020 Minutes and Action Items

Attendees

Members: Amber Butler, Amy Gowan; Cathy Hudson; Corey Ramsden; Franny Yuhas; James Zoller; John Dove; Keith Ohlinger; Kelly Hensig; Kevin Lucas; Leah Miller

Guests: Dani Phillips; Matt Hoover; Patrick Boddicker

Approval of Minutes

Minutes for 3/17/2020 were approved.

Presentations

While there were no formal presentations, Leah Miller and Dani Phillips from Howard County's Office of Community Sustainability provided a summary of Howard County zoning regulations that reference solar, references for best practices for local governments in regulating solar development, federal and state incentives available for solar projects in Maryland, and examples of incentives offered by other local jurisdictions. Corey Ramsden provided comments collected from members of the solar industry working in Howard County regarding the County's current zoning regulations and suggestions for improvement.

Action Items

- Dani Phillips offered to research definitions used for items related to solar in other municipal zoning regulations and provide a draft of suggested definitions the Task Force can consider recommending for inclusion in Howard County's zoning regulations.
- Several members volunteered to more closely review the zoning and incentives best practices
 resources that James sent out prior to the meeting and to come back to full Task Force with any
 additional recommendations related to zoning and incentives. Volunteers include:
 - o Amy Gowan
 - Keith Ohlinger
 - Cathy Hudson
 - Franny Yuhas
 - Corey Ramsden
 - Dani Phillips (appointed to replace Leah Miller on Solar Task Force as of 4/6/2020).