## Howard County Board of Elections Prince Royal Hotel 91<sup>st</sup> Street on the Ocean Ocean City, MD 21842 Date May 5, 2008

## Present:

Ann M. Balcerzak, President Raymond M. Rankin, Democratic Member Donna K. Thewes, Republican Member Charles M. Coles, Jr., Republican Substitute Member Vivian L. Dixon, Board Secretary Michael S. Molinaro, Board Counsel

Staff: Betty L. Nordaas, Director

Guy Mickley, Deputy Director

Absent: Donna L. Rice, Democratic Substitute Member

Visitors: None

Ms. Balcerzak called the meeting to order at 3:00 PM. All members were present, constituting a quorum.

**Approval of Minutes:** April 28, 2008 - Deferred to June

Requests for Additions or Changes to Agenda: None

<u>Correspondence:</u> Board advised of Director's letter to Linda Lamone, requesting approval to relocate District/Precinct 4-6, from Glenwood Middle School's gym to cafeteria and District/Precinct 5-21, from Howard Community College, Room 100, to the Technology Building, Game Room SA 101.

<u>President & Director</u>: Attorney General's Task Force on Voting Irregularities was presented, followed by brief discussion. Three (3) House Bills, in particular, were noted:

- HR 281 Universal Right to Vote by Mail Act.
- HR 5803 Backup Ballot Act and
- HR 4237 Overseas Voting Practical Amendments Act

<u>Attorney's Report:</u> Counsel gave Board a recap of the Attorney's Breakout Session. Of note, was concern surrounding the extension of Primary Election voting time.

Old Business: None

## **New Business:**

- Board Secretary evaluation set for May 19<sup>th</sup> at 4:00 PM, in President's office.
- Contractual review for Board Counsel set for June 16<sup>th</sup> at 4:00 PM, in President's office.
- 6-Month evaluation of Director overdue.

**Action:** None to report

## Adjournment:

There being no further business, adjournment was unanimously agreed upon. Session closed at 4:26 PM. The next regular meeting will be held June 23, 2008 at 4:00 PM.

Respectfully submitted,	
. Signed June 23, 2008 .	. Signed June 23, 2008 .
Vivian L. Dixon, Board Secretary	Ann M. Balcerzak, President